Lifetime Membership Award Winners

Life Membership in CAHF is designed to provide lasting recognition to those who have provided "outstanding" or "exemplary" service to the association through involvement at the chapter and state level, as well as providing community service.



PREVIOUS WINNERS

2021

Jim Gomez

During his 15 years as CAHF's CEO, Jim was instrumental in leading the effort to create a new reimbursement system which became known as AB 1629. After that, he negotiated a five-year Medi-Cal rate agreement with the state, which provided a long period of financial stability for members.

During his tenure at CAHF, Jim was honored with the AHCA Joe Warner Patient Advocacy award. Prior to CAHF, Jim served as CEO of CalPERS, the largest public retirement system in the United States and as Director of the California Department of Corrections.

During his long state career, he served as a mentor to dozens of individuals and adopted policies to help promote women into leadership positions. Since his retirement, Jim has been working part-time as a consultant and continues to enjoy travelling with his wife Chris.



2019

James Nappoli

James Napoli, a long-time partner at Hanson Bridgett in San Francisco, retired in 2019 after 27 years with the law firm. A frequent speaker at CAHF conferences, James has shared his knowledge on a variety of legal topics ranging from disputes and citations to responding to government investigations. In addition to volunteering his expertise, James has been a generous Patron of the Association, an active chapter participant and a willing sponsor of a multitude of functions at CAHF events throughout the years.



2018

Sally Craven

Sally Craven began her career as an activities director and then served as a nursing home administrator in Ohio and San Francisco before joining CAHF in 1990. During her 26-year tenure at CAHF, Sally was the go-to person for members and associates as director of Member Services and Meetings. Even in retirement, she holds the record as the only staff member who can recite the association bylaws. Sally was also the unofficial office historian as well as the keeper of all the preferences and secrets of many CAHF members. An artist and jewelry designer, Sally established the CAHF Art for Life program, which celebrated and promoted original artwork created by nursing home residents.



ADDITIONAL PREVIOUS WINNERS

2017	Georgia Otterson Clay Green	Marlow S. Baar Art Brandt Mardell Brandt
2016	Darryl Nixon	Louise Broderick
		Doris Dent
2015	David Helmsin	Del Callaway
		Benedict and Angela Cipponeri
2014	Jerry Wells	Lois Cornell
		Frank Drabickas
2013	Richard Hebbel	Robert J. Gerst
		Peggy Goldstein
		Brigitta Grimaldi
		Miriam Harrison
		Blaine Hendrickson
		Marian Holden
		Norman Holden
		Marshall Horsman
		Ronald Kurtz
		Charles McClain
		Ron O'Haver
		Robert Taylor
		Janet Turner
		Fern Robinson
		John Williams
		Ritchie Wills
		Bruce Yarwood