Thomas E. Spindle Award Winners

Thomas E. Spindle, an active CAHF participant and member of the Board of Directors, was killed in a 1969 plane crash in Alaska. Following his death, the Board created an annual recognition award in his honor. The Thomas E. Spindle Memorial Award recognizes an individual who has contributed considerable time and knowledge and provided exemplary service to CAHF.



PREVIOUS WINNERS

2022

Lori Cooper

With a passion for helping others in long-term care, Dr. Lori Cooper manages nine skilled nursing facilities and assisted living facilities. During this time, she set the standard by being the first to implement electronic health care records at a facility in California and earning a Gold – Achievement in Quality Award in 2018 from the American Health Care Association and National Care for Assisted Living. Lori's achievements have also been recognized with CAHF's Distinguished Service Award and the CAHF Del Callaway Administrative Excellence Award.

Described as passionate, selfless, a team player and builder, Lori has also served on numerous CAHF committees and leadership positions culminating with her service as Chair of the Board of Directors.



ADDITIONAL PREVIOUS WINNERS

2021	Julianne Williams	2011	Floyd Rhoades
2019	Dick MacFarlane	2010	Bruce Bennett
2018	Calvin Callaway	2009	Richard Mendlen
2017	Mike Cutchshaw	2008	Stephen Reissman
2016	Walter Hekimian	2007	Nancy Beecham
2015	Terry Bane	2006	Sally & Roland Rapp
2014	Elizabeth Plott Tyler	2005	Paul Tunnell
2013	Frances Foy	2004	Ron Kurtz
2012	Boyd Hendrickson	2003	Ritchie Wills

ADDITIONAL PREVIOUS WINNERS

2002	Terry Mundy	1985	David Metcalf
2001	Jill Mendlen	1984	Ardell Patterson Fred Mikesell
2000	Larry Bradley	1983	Genevieve Skidmore
1999	Richard Feingold	1982	
1998	Ann Gaal	1902	Del Callaway Norman & Marian Holden
1997	Norm Gould		
1996	Jack Markovitz	1980	Janet Walston
1995	Janet C. Eisenbeis	1979	Fern Robinson
1994	Jerry E. Wells	1978	William J. Bauer
1993	Robert Taylor	1977	Bernard M. Bubman
1992	Bruce Yarwood	1976	Doris Dent
1991	Blaine Hendrickson	1975	Mary Ellen Forrest
1990	Phillip Chase	1974	Volney A. Labrath
1989	Mary Baker	1973	George C. Scholl, Ph.D
	Ruth Braswell	1972	C.R. "Dick" Lafferty
1988	Richard Hebbel	1971	Marshall N. Horsman
1987	Robert Nelson	1970	Marlow S. Baar
1986	Art & Mardell Brandt	1969	Robert A. Thornblad