Del Callaway Administrative Excellence Award Winners

The award recognizes a long-term care administrator who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and mentoring while advancing patient care and enhancing quality. Recipients of the Administrative Excellence Award are selected by the previous winners of the award.



2022 - Calvin Callaway

Folsom Care Center

For more than 40 years, Calvin Callaway has dedicated himself to the long-term care profession and the Folsom Care Center. During this time, Calvin has willingly performed nearly any job necessary, even during his time as Administrator – from running the kitchen for 14 days straight during COVID-19, to payroll, IT, and even handling maintenance requests. In 2015, this commitment resulted in the facility receiving a Bronze – Achievement in Quality Award, and in 2018, a Silver – Achievement in Quality Award from the American Health Care Association and National Center for Assisted Living.

The desire to do more extends beyond business matters: this approach also applies to his positions within CAHF – including his time as Chairman of the Board, Vice Chair and current role as Independent Owners/Operators Conference Chair – along with personal relationships. Calvin genuinely cares for his staff, most of whom he knows on a personal level, including their families, as he emulates the example set by his father, Del Callaway.



2021 - Erika Castile

Torrey Pines Senior Living San Diego

With 20 years in long-term care, Erika serves as the administrator of a 45-bed post-acute and executive director of a 100-bed assisted living and memory care facility. During

her tenure, she navigated Torrey Pines from a 2-Star facility to a Five-Star operation by building a culture of caring among her co-workers, residents and families. During COVID-19, Erika worked with her team to put an aggressive infection control program in place. As a result, they were COVID-free for nine months. Erika loves senior care, and it shows in her attitude and smile. She had taken time to develop other leaders and is invested in helping to share the future of long-term care though advocacy efforts. Erika has a bachelor's and master's degree in Gerontology and serves as the San Diego Chapter President. She has completed the AHCA Future Leader program and was recently appointed by the Governor

to the California Commission on Aging. Erika's commitment to her staff, genuine care for residents and families and her ability to engage and advocate for the profession are a perfect trifecta for administrative excellence.



PREVIOUS WINNERS

2020	Bart Vanderwall Phylene Sunga Rosemary Kilby Leslie Cotham Linday Lindsey	2015	Lucille Epperson
2019		2014	Corey Wright
2018		2013	DeAnn Walters
2017		2012	Deborah Davis
2016		2011	Lori Cooper