Thursday, December 08, 2016
Behavioral Health Conference
  • Click here to search CAHF's Behavioral Health Conference member facilities listings

doctor and resident

Mental Health Rehabilitation Centers (MHRC)

MHRCs provide a DMH-licensed 24-hour care facility program that offers intensive support and rehabilitation services to persons 18 years or older with mental disorders. MHRCs assist these persons, who would have been placed in a state hospital or another mental health facility, in developing skills to become self-sufficient and capable of increasing levels of independent functioning.

Psychiatric Health Facilities

Psychiatric Health Facilities are licensed by DMH to provide inpatient services to individuals with acute major mental disorders whose physical health needs can be met in an affiliated hospital or in an outpatient setting. (Non-acute medical). These facilities were established as an alternative to psychiatric inpatient hospitals to offer acute services at reduced cost.


Community Residential Treatment System Facilities (CRTS)

CRTS facilites are designed to provide a residential setting to serve persons who have a chronic or an acute psychiatric impairment and whose adaptive functioning is moderately impaired. In order to better meet the needs of these individuals, services are divided into three categories; (1) Short Term Crisis, (2) Transitional Residential, and (3) Long-Term Residential Treatment programs.

CRTS facilities are generally 16 beds or less and provide a home-like environment. Some of these unique programs focus on the geriatric population. All of these facilities are licensed by the Department of Social Services, Community Care Licensing (DSS/CCL), and the treatment program is certified by DMH. Reviews are conducted annually by DMH.

Community Treatment Facilities (CTF)

CTF facilities are secure (locked) residential treatment facilities providing mental health treatment services to adolescents who are diagnosed as Severely Emotionally Disturbed. They provide an alternative to State Hospitals and out-of-state placement. These community-based facilities are licensed by DSS/CCL and their programs are certified by DMH. CTFs are reviewed every 6 months by DMH/L&C and DSS/CCL.

Special Treatment Programs in Skilled Nursing Facilities (SNF/STP)
STPs are commonly known as "IMDs" although IMD is not a state licensure or certification category - it is just a federal definition/designation that limits which facilities can receive reimbursement under the federal Medicaid and Medicare insurance programs.STPs have been in operation since the 1970s and were originally authorized in state law and approved by DMH to provide services to persons with chronic and persistent psychiatric impairments. They serve a wide range of target populations: adolescent, adult, geriatric, acute psychiatric, moderate medical needs. STPs make up the largest program population overseen by DMH. These facilities are licensed by the Department of Public Health/Licensing and Certification (DPH/L&C) and the special treatment program is certified by DMH.

Representing California nursing home providers and dedicated to quality health care

California Association of Health Facilities | 2201 K St | Sacramento, CA  95816

Ph (916) 441-6400  |  (800) 347-5547  |  Fax (916) 441-6441 |  E-mail:

Home   |   About CAHF   |   Our Members   |   Media Center   |   Careers   |   Meetings/Events   |   Education
Copyright 2016 by California Association of Health Facilities