Friday, September 19, 2014

Our Members

CAHF members are made up of a variety of diverse long-term care providers.  Use these pages to locate facilities or services and find out more about what each member type brings to the long term care spectrum of health.

Our Members

CAHF's membership is comprised of more than 1,250 licensed non-profit and proprietary health facilities serving a wide spectrum of needs in a variety of settings.

CAHF's members include:

  • Skilled-nursing facilities (SNFs) – Sometimes called "nursing homes" or "convalescent hospitals," these facilities provide comprehensive nursing care for chronically ill or short-term residents of all ages, along with rehabilitation and specialized medical programs.
  • Subacute-care facilities – Specialized units often in a distinct part of a nursing facility, subacute-care facilities focus on intensive rehabilitation, complex wound care and post-surgical recovery for residents of all ages who no longer need the level of care found in a hospital.
  • Intermediate-care facilities (ICFs) – In addition to room and board, these facilities provide regular medical, nursing, social and rehabilitative services for people not capable of full independent living.
  • Intermediate-care facilities for persons with developmental disabilities (ICFs/DD) – Known at the federal level as "ICFs/MR" (mental retardation), these facilities provide services for people of all ages with developmental disabilities. ICFs/DD-H (habilitative), ICFs/DD-CN (chronic nursing) and ICFs/DD-N (nursing) have home-like settings with an average of six beds. ICFs/DD are larger homes with 16 or more beds.
  • Institutes for mental health (SNF/STPs) – Designated in California as "special treatment programs," these facilities provide extended treatment periods for people of all ages with chronic mental health problems; most of the clients are younger than 65. Specialized staff serve clients in a secured environment.
  • Products and services providers – Individuals, firms and corporations which provide information, products and services for long-term care facilities and homes are part of CAHF's valuable network of associate (vendor) members.
For a searchable database of our member facilities and associate members click here.

Member Categories

CAHF and its members are also members of the American Health Care Association (AHCA).

CAHF's member facilities are divided into five regions and 19 chapters throughout the state. Each region elects its own officers (the chair of which serves on the Board of Directors) and each chapter is individually incorporated and elects its own officers.

The six conferences represent special interest groups within the membership to provide a forum for sharing ideas and concerns.  Every member home or facility is assigned to a corresponding conference and may belong to more than one conference according to their facility type.

Each conference meets at the Spring and Summer Conference and at the Annual Convention.  Officers are elected by the conference for a two-year term.  The conference chairs are voting members of the Board of Directors.

CAHF conferences include:

  • Behavioral Health
  • Independent Owners/Operators
  • Multi-Facility
  • Nonproprietary
  • Developmental Services

In This Section

Find A Provider Facility
Searchable database

Behavioral Health Conference

Facilities licensed by the Dept. of Mental Health

Developmental Services Conference

Homes serving the developmentally-disabled

CAHF Nurse Council

Long-term care nurses

Associate (Vendor) Members

Searchable database of products & services

Multi-Facility Headquarters

Corporate headquarters

California Association of Health Facilities | 2201 K St | Sacramento, CA  95816

Ph (916) 441-6400  |  (800) 347-5547  |  Fax (916) 441-6441 |  E-mail:

Home   |   About CAHF   |   Our Members   |   Media Center   |   Careers   |   Meetings/Events   |   Education
Copyright 2014 by California Association of Health Facilities